Organisations I visited

As the research part of my trip comes to a close & before I head off to Croatia & Italy for a holiday I got counting- so do you want the stats?? Probably not, but here they are anyway!

I went to 2 festivals, saw 25 shows, 2 dress rehearsals, 2 schools shows, presented at 1 conference, went to 15 talks, 1 book launch, 5 workshops, 1 youth dance event, 1 inclusive night club event, 12 meetings, had 37 dinners out and all this across 38 days in 4 countries.

Below I’ve listed the organisations and places I visited. I also met and chatted with many other people from other organisations as well at group meetings & festivals that aren’t listed here.

There is LOADS going on in the UK. You can find work and activity in small country towns and in nooks and crannies around the country. I mention one organisation to another and they may or may not have heard of them- pretty different to Australia in that regard. For instance when I visited the Level Centre in Matlock, it’s this purpose built building for arts based activity, mainly more digital and experimental arts for people with intellectual disabilities and not everyone has heard of it. If you’re in that area, so the Midlands area you have but outside of that when I was mentioning Level Centre and their building and facilities to others they hadn’t heard of it. If a purpose built 3million (pound) building specifically for artists with intellectual disabilities was in Australia- the majority of the arts community (and not just the arts and disability community) would know about it. I have found this fascinating and the more people I talked to the more suggestions I get given of organisations I should visit!

Check out the interactive map with all addresses and locations HERE

Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Edinburgh

Arts, Disability, Health conference, Bergen, Norway

Moomsteatern, Malmo, Sweden

Unlimited Festival– Southbank Centre, London

Graeae Theatre Company, London

Access All Areas, London

Freewheelers Theatre & Media Company, Surrey, UK

Cando Dance Company, Stanmore, UK

Sparetyre, London

Soho Theatre, London

Gielgud Theatre, London

Unlimited Festival- Tramway, Glasgow

Mind the Gap, Bradford, UK

Darkhorse Theatre, Huddersfield, UK

Carousel, Brighton, UK

Rocket Artists, Brighton, UK

Attenborough Arts Centre, Leicester, UK

The Level Centre, Matlock, UK

Whilst I didn’t get to Hijinx in Wales I met up with them after their show at Edinburgh Fringe and also saw them again at Unlimited.

map

dsc03886

 

Leave a comment